BUILT by SYD

Building U Individualized Lifestyle Training

How I Eat

1 Comment

I recently met with one of my best friends who advised me to do a food journal for a week to show people how I eat as an example of a proper diet. I thought this was a good idea and decided to give it a go. Keep in mind, that even though this is a proper way for ME to eat, some of you will need different foods as you may be allergic to certain ones I eat or find yourself to be a vegan and opt out of all the meat choices in my diet. My body responds really well to fish and grass-fed beef. So don’t be surprised that I have very little days of full vegetarianism.

Wednesday 7/3/13:

I tend to sleep intermittently because of my back pain and crazy dreams. My metabolism always allows me to eat at less-than-optimal times so sometimes I wake up like I did today at 4am and find myself a tad hungry. So I decided to first drink water and then eat a LaraBar.  Image Then I promptly went back to sleep. When I really woke up at about 7:45, I found myself really achy and proceeded to do some postural postures and massage my upper back with a tapping device before I ate my second meal of the day. I sipped on some delicious Numi White Orange Spice Tea before making my breakfast smoothie. Keep in mind my estimates are rough on amounts in the smoothie because I rarely measure things, rather, use my good judgement and knowledge.

IMG_1116

Todays smoothie recipe: About a teaspoon Spirulina, 1/3 of an organic red beet, 3 organic Conadria dried figs, 1 organic plum, about 1 tablespoon coconut oil, 1 handful of organic red kale, about 1tablespoon of organic hemp hearts, about 1/3 cup of frozen blueberries and about 2/3 cup of coconut water.

I didn’t eat a normal lunch today because I had an office meeting at noon.  However, it was catered by Waters on Morena Blvd., a local and sustainable little eatery. I ate a little bit of pesto pasta salad over some lettuce (no dressing) and had pieces of turkey pesto sandwichs which I picked apart and removed the cheese and most of the bread. Then while others snacked on brownies and lemon bars, I ate some coconut milk tapioca pudding. Needless to say that I was full for quite a while because I normally would eat a much lighter 3rd meal.

1203p110-amys-light-sodium-family-marinara-pasta-sauce-l

By 6:30 I was starving as normally I would eat around 3 or so. So I snacked on a few (and I mean less than 5) organic blue corn tortilla chips with some leftover guacamole (which is basically just avocado, garlic powder, Himalayan sea salt and fresh ground pepper) while I reheated some food from last night. I cooked lentils and quinoa in a little coconut oil and some of Annie’s Low-Sodium Marinara Sauce (I like to control the sodium and most tomato sauces are super high in sodium). I then added some pepper, fresh garlic, zucchini and kale. All organic of course! Minimal meat today, but lentils give me the iron my body craves. A few hours later, I ate a handful of the chips again and a carrot. The loose organic ones I get, less processed than those baby carrots that come in the bag = more nutrients. Then I did some yoga. In total I probably drank about 2.5 liters of water throughout the day.

Thursday 7/4/13:

Yes even on a holiday my diet stays pretty consistant. My younger days of celebrating holidays with a breakfast “drink” have progressed to organic smoothies with no alcohol. That’s not to say that I won’t celebrate today’s festivities without a little tequila. I have bought 2 grass-fed steaks for my girlfriend and I for the BBQ and I plan on making some spicy guacamole to go with those fabulous blue chips from yesterday.

IMG_1117

First meal of the day comes at around 9:30, after I drink some water and put in some laundry. Todays smoothie – handful of organic red kale, 1/4 carrot, 1/2 beet, 1/3 apple, handful of frozen blueberries, 3 figs, 1 small plum, about 2 tbsp hemp seeds, 1 tbsp spirulina & about 1 cup coconut water. Sounds like a lot of veggies but it is still tasty.

The smoothie ended up yielding about 4 cups which was a lot to drink, so I sipped it over the next two hours. Then around noon, I made some guacamole for the party which of course I had to try to make sure it was delicious. 6 Hass avocados, juice of 1 key lime, then I blended 1/2 an organic beefsteak tomato with a jalapeño and added that to the avocados and lime. Finished off with some Himalayan salt, black pepper and garlic powder to taste. So 5 more of those blue chips from yesterday to taste that delicious mixture. Finished off that beefsteak tomato and waited to go to the party.

I marinated the steaks in olive oil, fresh garlic, apple cider vinegar, Himalayan salt, pepper and oregano. Those steaks plus organic zucchini are what I brought to eat. However the family of the party were grilling up sausages, green-onions, asparagus, eggplant and  I ate more chips and guacamole too! I even splurged and drank a few sips of a very potent strawberry margarita. I also drank a Peligrino italian soda (I never drink soda).

Came home to coconut water and a peach. Obviously today has become my cheat day because we ended our 4th celebration with gelato – strawberry sorbet with vanilla gelato for me.

Friday 7/5/13subt

After yesterdays splurge, today will be more strict. I wake up with a glass of water. Then off to our favorite coffee shop, Subterranean Coffee Boutique, which is the only coffee shop I know of that not only carries almond milk, but coconut milk too! So its a coconut-milk cappuccino for me. Then I make a couple eggs with some spicy sausage (from humane-pork). Just scramble 2 organic free-range eggs with a little sriracha and add to a pan heating up 2 sliced sausages – yields 2 servings . I rarely eat pork but when I do, it’s gotta be spicy!

That protein and fat makes for a heavy breakfast keeps me full well until lunchtime. I did end up sampling a BBQ rib at Sprouts around 12:15 when I went for some supplies for my dessert to bring to my sister’s for dinner tonight. Then feeling a little full from yesterdays eat-a-thon, I used my acupuncturist’s method for alleviating digestion woes by mixing a little honey and water with some apple cider vinegar. This is difficult to stomach but it is effective.

IMG_1122That dessert I made? Super easy. I took Juli Bauer’s recipe for Coconut Klondike Bites and edited the toppings to include a dark-chocolate peanut-butter topping (yes I know not paleo but delicious) using the Peanut Butter & Co Dark Chocolate Dreams; homemade pineapple & lime juice and pineapple, lime juice and peach. Then I was so excited about my pineapple, lime juice and peach topping I mixed some more up with some coconut and coconut water and froze them in ice-cube trays in case I want something cold during the week.

Around 2:30 I snacked on an organic plum and we headed to lunch at Local Habit, an organic eatery in Hillcrest. I ate their Green Pizza with pesto, pickled zucchini, bell pepper , kale, onion, micro greens and chive on a gluten-free crust. It was so amazing and without cheese so my body would process it easier. They also have amazing fresh-brewed kombucha and some amazing craft beers but today I drink just agua.I don’t drink anything other than coconut water, sparkling water and regular  filtered water after that cup of coffee all day.

IMG_1124

Dinner at my sisters was amazing, her boyfriend BBQ’s kabobs of grass-fed steak and shrimp, grilled up a couple sausages too. My sister made an arugula salad with a homemade orange vinaigrette. She puts me to work in the kitchen with Juli Bauer’s Summer Squash Pancakes, which really are shredded squash, carrot and onion latkes! They turn out delish too! The desserts I made turned out pretty well except the coconut part was a little too hard, I think next time I’ll modify Bauer’s recipe and use coconut milk instead of the butter.

Saturday 7/6/13

I woke up late this morning, must have needed some sleep. Occasionally I will take a muscle relaxant like I did last night, when my pain levels are 8-9, so I can sleep without waking up because I am in pain. So at 11:00 am, when I finally woke up, I brewed some organic fair-trade coffee and made another smoothie for my girlfriend and I.

Todays all-organic smoothie: 2 figs, 1 small golden beet, 1/2 carrot, 1 red kale leaf, handful of frozen blueberries, handful of fresh pineapple, 1/2 apple, hemp hearts and coconut water. I think this one is my favorite of the week!

An hour later I serve us up one sausage each after our body has time to digest the smoothie.

Garden-of-Eatin-Organic-Blue-Tortilla-Chips-015839000015

We go to the beach and take with us a picnic of watermelon and pineapple, blue ships, salsa and guacamole. So around 2:30 I am eating  some of that yumminess.

At 6:15 we go to a little sushi restaurant I heard that was fabulous and in walking distance. At Akinori, we share a spicy yellowtail roll, a spicy tuna roll, their Ichi Bomb Tuna Patty Stuffed with Shiitake Mushroom, and their Kill Bill roll which is a shrimp tempura roll with cilantro sliced lime & salmon, topped with avocado, jalapeño, salsa & eel sauce. Everything was amazing. I sipped on green tea and water while we ate.

My weekends are little more lax than my weekdays, so I allow myself to indulge in a little fried shrimp sushi or even dairy ice-cream if I feel so inclined. I still try to combine foods well and eat in an Ayurvedic manner as much as possible. Mind Body Green makes it easy to learn a little about eating the Ayurvedic way.

IMG_1150

Tonights dessert? I use Paleomg.com’s recipe for flour-less cookies but I modify it to organic fresh ground almond butter and coconut sugar instead of honey. They don’t flatten out like Juli’s but they are just as delicious. I have a couple with some Teavana SuperBerry Harmony tea which apparently you can only get on amazon now!

Sunday 7/7/13

Today I woke up earlier, 9am, drank some water and went to breakfast with my sweetheart around 10am. We walked up the block to a local restaurant called Heat Bar and Kitchen. I did not feel like meat so I had the seasonal roasted vegetable croissant minus the cheese with a side salad. Greens sounded appealing and it was quite tasty. I only ate 1/2 the croissant and drank coffee and water with breakfast.

That meal kept me pretty full until 2:30 when I ate some fresh organic pineapple and watermelon as well as some blue chips with avocado. Simple and easy.

coconutwI drank regular water and  peach-mango coconut water between 2:30 and around 5:30 when I eat appetizers with my sister and friend Erin at The Patio. We shared some hummus, veggies, olives, dried fruit and fresh dried meats while I sipped on Rooibos tea.

IMG_1148

Around 8pm I ate dinner. I sautéed up some organic spinach in organic virgin olive oil to accompany my spicy sausage (the last one I eat for a while).

My friend Veronica comes over and I serve us up some of those amazing paleo-cookies I baked last night with some tea around 9:30pm.

Monday 7/8/13

Today I woke around 4 am really hungry so I ate a paleo cookie and drank some water. Then when I really woke up around 8:30, I ate a pear and drank more water. Around 11:30 I made a smoothie. Todays concoction: watermelon, mango, shredded coconut, hemp hearts and coconut oil. I also ate a Rise bar because I was feeling a little hungry. I drank lots of water and had one glass of coffee around 2pm.

By 4:20 I was hungry again and made a second smoothie this time mostly veggies: cucumber, golden beet, kale, apple and spirulina.

kombucha_tropical_blend_glamourAt 6:50 I drank a kombucha. Normally I stick with GT’s and try to find the original 21 and up version, but Celestial Seasonings was on sale. The Super Green Tropical one I sipped on before working out.

I didn’t get back home til after ten so I quickly heated up Annie’s low-in-sodium organic lentil soup. Ate a couple blue chips and sipped on water. Today was a vegan day. Felt ok for my body, it was what my body wanted.

There you have it, a trainer’s average diary!  I am very careful of what I put in my body. Mostly organic, mostly fresh and mostly nutritious. I rarely drink anything other than water and kombucha! Also, I haven’t been sick in over 2 years, and I feel my healthy lifestyle largely contributes to that. Yes you read correctly, while others around me are coughing and feverish, I remain healthy and happy. You can too if you follow my lead!IMG_1128

Author: builtbysyd

Yogi, lifestyle coach and personal trainer. Get healthy. Get fit. Get BUILT!

One thought on “How I Eat

  1. Absolutely indited material, appreciate this for details.

Reply

